Maybe One Day

Standard

18053047

Goodreads Summary:

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

 

The beginning is information overload. And the voice is really strange, detatched but first person so I feel like there should be more of a connection, though it does highlight the emotional roller coaster.

It’s a really interesting point of view, I have to give it that. Exploring the suffering of someone dealing with the illness of a loved one; and it represented the self-pity, relief, and anger I can image people going through. I think a good message that comes from it though is that she needed someone to look out for her, while she was worried about her friend, and she needed a reason to be happy; and it’s not something that should be shamed.

I don’t have anything against the book, but it wasn’t my cup of tea. I just don’t want to read about people dying. I’m glad I gave it a shot though, and that’s the whole point of why I’m doing the 365 days of YA Challenge, to try and broaden my horizons a bit, but I will not be going down this road again.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s